Maker, Shaker, Thinker, Tinker

M.ath, M.usic, A.rt, D.rama. Dance

the MMADD mathematician wonders constantly about pattern. It is everywhere……So is Art. Art creates curiosity and curiosity drives CONSTRUCTIONINVENTION. This is how the human brain takes control of its own learning.

Compare 6

6 = 2 + 2 + 2 6 = 2 + 4

I was thinking about ways to play with 6 when I wove these.

I specifically had 4, 5 and 6 year olds in mind. I wondered if this might be an interesting centre task. Today’s focus is 6 and only 2 colours are available to use.

I made looms that had a warp of 5 (no particular reason except I wanted an odd number).  I was thinking of ways to see 6 in 2 colours. I see 2 + 2 + 2 and I see 2 + 4.  But then I thought I also can see 3 + 3 in the one on the left. So 2 + 2 + 2 = 3 + 3

still 6   Then I made these 2,  and I saw 3 + 1 + 2 but that is really just 3 + 3 or is it 5 + 1.

Playing in the numbers I see 3 + 1 + 2 = 3 + (1+2) so 3 + 1 + 2 = 3 + 3 I see 3 + 1 + 2 = (3+2) + 1 so 3 + 1 + 2 = 5 + 1.

Changing the order or arrangement of 6 does not change there are six. And the nice thing with paper weaving is that I can pull out and trade off the colours if I do not worry about gluing down edges…

See my section on WEAVING for more on this.

Why would I weave with 6? I was thinking about little fingers working on fine motor skills. I was thinking about the attraction of colour. I was thinking about the focus of remembering to weave in and out while you stick to the constraint of only 6 but in 2 colours. I was thinking about translating from colours to numbers, is any understanding lost or is new understanding gained.

A hugely important thinking skill is the ability to sort by 2 or more attributes. I link that idea to what I was doing here. I have to keep several different criteria in mind as I work. 

I was also thinking, it is good for students to “play within” a number. So this task is about 6. Ways to describe 6. Ways to arrange 2 colours or 2 parts so that 6 is clearly evident. That is a pre requisite skill to developing number sense.

But then I wondered what would happen if I had a larger loom and I could keep going? Could I still see in sixes? What kind of pattern would emerge? What would the core of each be? Same or different?

I find children and some adults are easily fooled into thinking the core ends when they decide it ends, rather than it ends when it repeats….What is the core of my two patterns in the weaving above?

What would come “before” if I extended them backwards? What would come “after” if I extended them forwards? What would 6 repetitions look like in each core?

Could you translate these patterns to music? What would they sound like?

Could you translate these patterns to movement? What would they clap like? Step like?

To really embody patterning as a way of organizing data, seeing relationships, creating thought-provoking ideas, students need to EXPERIENCE pattern with their whole bodies.  So we look for ways to BUILD.

As I begin to EXplAIN my experiencing, the complexity that is embedded in the task comes through.. I see more connections and begin to spread my thinking in other directions. Finding pattern in the data I collect helps me FOCUS the task.

What I choose to REPRESENT as my understanding of the task will direct where my learning goes. At the represent stage, in a classroom, the teacher may begin to take a more direct role to guide students toward specific goals.

For more about Weaving and Math go up to the menu and look for the drop down box for Math, Art  under the section for Support. You will find a section on Weaving. Newly updated.