So what did you see in math class today?

fixed my spleling (ha,ha)

Thinking 101

Teach kids to think & reason, then teach “math” or “science” or “socials” or..

IMG_23821

So here’s my point folks. We present math ideas with a perspective that pushes students’ focus to the wrong place in the picture or in the manipulative. Then we say see that didn’t work and go back to telling them what to think. Instead, I want you to get rid of “fill in the blank math sheets.” Start giving students fully finished equations and have them learn to read, demonstrate and compare them. What can you change and not affect the outcome.

 3 + 6 = 9Screen Shot 2016-08-04 at 11.13.23 AM is true. No argument.

Now look at my collection of 9 and tell me what else is true?

What happens if you move the collection around? Knowing 9 is the answer is not the same knowledge as “knowing” 9.  Think about it. We have to do the right job in…

View original post 298 more words